Speaker 2014 Annual Meeting


Tarun Das
Founding Trustee, Ananta Centre

Tarun Das has dedicated his professional career to the development and promotion of Indian Industry. Starting in 1963 with the predecessor body of Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) he was the Director General and Chief Executive of CII from 1967 to 2004 and Chief Mentor from 2004 to 2009. His leadership of the organization over three decades has led to strengthening business and strategic ties between India and the world. He is Member of the Advisory Group for G-20, Ministry of Finance; Member, Expert Group, Planning Commission on Government-Industry Consultations; Member, Working Group on Business Regulatory Framework for the 12th Five Year Plan (2012-2017), Planning Commission; Member, Expert Group, Prime Minister’s Office to formulate a jobs plan for the State of J&K Youth; Member, Council of IITs, Ministry of Human Resources Development; Member, Round Table on Skills Development, Ministry of Human Resources Development; Member, National Culture Fund, Ministry of Culture; Member, Kerala State Planning Board, Kerala Government; Member, Indo-UK Round Table, Ministry of External Affairs. He is also Founding Trustee, Council on Energy Environment and Water (CEEW); Managing Trustee, Indian Business Trust for HIV/AIDS; Vice President and Treasurer, World Wildlife Fund- India (WWF); Member, Board of Trustees, Public Interest Foundation (PIF); Trustee, Sasakawa India Leprosy Foundation (SILF); Member, Board of Governors, Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations (ICRIER); Member, Executive Committee of the Board, ICRIER; Member, Apex Council on India@75, Confederation of Indian Industry (CII); Trustee, India@75 Foundation; Member, Singapore India Partnership Foundation (SIPF); Founding Trustee, Aspen Institute India; Lifetime Trustee, The Aspen Institute, USA; Member, Board of Governors, East West Center. He is Co-Chair of the US-India Strategic Dialogue; Co-Chair, Indo-US-Japan Strategic Dialogue; Co-Chair, India- Israel Forum; Member, India-Singapore Strategic Dialogue; Member, India-China Strategic Dialogue. He is Member, Board of Directors, John Keells Holdings PLC (Sri Lanka); Member, International Advisory Board of ACE Insurance (USA); Member, India Advisory Board of VOITH (Germany); Member, India Advisory Board, JCB (UK); Chairman, Haldia Petrochemicals Ltd, 2001-2011. He is Honorary Doctorate in Science, The University of Warwick, UK (1996); Honorary CBE for contribution to Indo-British relations (1998); Singapore National Award (Public Service Medal) in 2004 by the Singapore Government for contribution to strengthening economic ties between India and Singapore; Padma Bhushan in 2006, one of the highest Civilian Awards, for contribution in the field of Trade and Industry, by the President of India; Honorary Doctorate by the Tel Aviv University in Israel for extraordinary commitment to promoting the Indian Economy in the global arena in May 2011.